Valentines Day 2015

The steadfast love of the Lord never ceases, his mercies never come to an end; they are new every morning; great is thy faithfulness.   Lamentations 3:22 & 23 Since  many of the people in this present world celebrate Valentine’s Day as a day to celebrate love for each other I thought the verse about the Lord’s love for us was a fitting start for this blog. One of my precious memories of our granddaughter happened when we watched the story of the first valentine that was sent and the events that caused it.  It is a beautiful story but a very sad ending.  We were all quietly weeping at the end and Jessica, then just a little girl said,  “well that was a real ‘tear dripper’  When the adults started laughing she was very puzzled. If you read my blogs the next few months you will probably see the recurring theme of memories.  My mind is recalling many various things as I prepare for a ‘Special Memories Recital’ the last Saturday in May.  I decided a few weeks ago that I would like to invite many of my former music students to a special recital. My few regular students will be performing and also several of my former students. We’re planning about two and a half hours of music and memories, then another hour of munchies and visiting.  The room will hold over 90 people and I hope to have that many joining us. I will enjoy seeing how many of them continued with their music.  Lots of them I’m sure have created successful lives in various fields and/or have happy family stories to share. I want to have lots of pictures of them when they were students in a notebook.  Hopefully we can add pictures taken that day as another precious memory resource. I began teaching music over 40 years ago when a friend had a young nephew who she thought would benefit from lessons.  At that time few teachers would take a student under the age of 7 or 8.  Since I’ve always loved music, teaching and people of all ages, I agreed to try.  Now after over 250 students, that love has never lessened so I still teach. Valentine’s Day makes me think of all the people and things I love; so wonderful memories  seem a good start for this blog. Recently thoughts of friends that we worked with on a oil and gas exploration crew in several states and in Canada prompted a search of the internet to see if we could find where they were at the present time.  After several hours and some help from a friend that lives near the area, we were able to find their phone number.  What fun to talk to them and hear about another couple who we worked with.  We will be expanding our search in the near future to find June’s phone number to try to visit with her.

Leave a comment